Mon 12, February, 2024

CELEBRATION NIGHT: Our Celebration Night was a resounding success, with nearly 300 guests in attendance. TJ Ryan was the host of the evening, as he welcomed Cian, Diarmaid and Aaron to the event that recognised their unprecedented success as PWC Hurlers of the Year from 2021, 2022 and 2023.

The first award of the night was a Distinguished Service Award for our loyal sponsors at Duggan Systems Limited. Immediately afterwards, Muirne Bennis won Club Person of the Year 2023 for her unwavering support of Irish culture, the Irish language and Scor. It was richly deserved.

Aileen Fitzsimons won the portrait raffle and then TJ Ryan hosted a Questions & Answers session with Limerick manager John Kiely and County Board chairperson Seamus McNamara. This built up towards the keynote interview session with Aaron Gillane, Cian Lynch and Diarmaid Byrnes.

The panel discussion brought together a rich variety of hurling experts. Cyril Farrell of Galway hurling fame was joined by Richie Bennis, Ger Hegarty and Cork’s Jamie Wall. The panel were quizzed on a wide range of topics by TJ Ryan, before Marty Morrissey dropped in for the final fifteen minutes. The final portion of the official ceremonies was the auction of the signed PWC Hurler of the Year special edition jersey. John O’Connell ran this auction with great pomp and the jersey fetched €2,050.

Overall, the club was thrilled with how the night unfolded. A special thanks was given by Chairperson Raymond Fitzgerald to the organising committee of John McDermott, Denver Morrissey, Declan O’Grady and Des Foley.

CLUB LOTTO: The Club Lotto draw on Tuesday February 6 was not won. The numbers drawn were 3, 5, 19 and 31. The bonus number was 9. The €100 Lucky Dip was won by Alannah O’Neill and the €20 prizes were claimed by Marie Franey, Denver Morrissey, Jim Byrnes, Gloria O’Grady and Doris Cusack. This week’s jackpot is €7,800.

CLUB MEMBERSHIP: Patrickswell Club Membership for 2024 is now open via the ClubZap app. Anyone who paid their membership on ClubZap in 2023 would have received a 2024 Renewal Notice by e-mail.

There are two approaches to paying Club Membership. For Renewal membership, either click the link in the email issued to your email account or else log into your ClubZap app. For first time membership, ensure the ClubZap app is downloaded from the Google Play Store or Apple App Store or by clicking ClubZap | Download The Mobile App, then create a user account and select “Patrickswell” to subscribe to.

In the “Clubhouse” tile, pick “Membership”. For renewals, pick “Renew Your Membership” with the email address you used last year. For first time members using ClubZap, select “Become a NEW member”. In “View Details”, you can read all about the membership packages and prices. By pressing “Purchase Now”, you can input the member(s) relevant details and finally make payment.

CLUB MESSAGING: Patrickswell GAA Club has changed the way that club messages are issued to our members and supporters. Club messages will now be sent via the ClubZap app, except in cases where a user doesn’t own a smartphone. In this instance, traditional text messages will continue to be used.

When ClubZap is installed and “Patrickswell” is added as a club, look out for the messages in the “Patrickswell Announcements” section of the Chat bubble. Push Notifications will be sent to your phone’s Notification Centre.