Tue 26, September, 2023

SENIOR HURLERS: Patrickswell rallied during the closing stages to beat Kildimo-Pallaskenry in the last group fixture of the County Championship. The opening exchanges saw the clubs trade two points apiece (Aaron Gillane 0-2). Our opponents notched four points without reply to build a 0-6 to 0-2 lead by the 15th minute. Diarmaid Byrnes and Thomas O’Brien cancelled out further Kildimo-Pallaskenry points and we still trailed by 0-8 to 0-4 on 25 minutes. Then Jordan Higgins’ close-range goal and additional points from John Kirby & Aaron Gillane levelled the score at 1-6 to 0-9 just before half-time. However, Kildimo-Pallaskenry struck a goal and a point to reach the interval at 1-10 to 1-6 ahead.

The initial ten minutes of the second half were low scoring as Kevin O’Brien and Diarmaid Byrnes matched Kildimo-Pallaskenry’s output. Patrickswell finally began to turn the screw by scoring five points in seven minutes through Aaron Gillane 0-2, Diarmaid Byrnes 0-2 and Jordan Higgins. We went ahead by 1-13 to 1-12 by the 50th minute as Kildimo-Pallaskenry failed to score for a lengthy 13 minutes. Patrickswell overwhelmed the opposition over the next ten minutes with two more goals from John Flynn and Aaron Gillane, plus a trio of points from Kevin O’Brien, Josh Considine and Diarmaid Byrnes. The scoreboard now displayed a comfortable lead of 3-16 to 1-14. Evan Fitzgerald scored the last point of the match to cement a nine-point win that was harsh on Kildimo-Pallaskenry.

The next championship match is the county quarter final against our neighbours Ballybrown on Sunday October 01 at 4.00pm in the TUS Gaelic Grounds. Tickets must be purchased in advance on universe.com.

JUNIOR A HURLERS: The refixed championship match against Monagea is on Saturday September 30 at 3.00pm in Croagh. Tickets must be purchased in advance on universe.com.

CLUB LOTTO: The Club Lotto draw on Monday September 18 was not won. The numbers drawn were 3, 12, 22 and 23. The bonus number was 17. The €100 Lucky Dip was won by Billy O’Connor and the €20 prizes were claimed by Simone Burke, Jack McCarthy, David Cusack, The Ronan Family and Killian Ryan. This week’s jackpot is €4,000.