Mon 07, August, 2023

SENIOR HURLERS: Patrickswell recorded a magnificent victory over holders Na Piarsaigh in the opening match of the County Championship. In rain soaked conditions, Na Piarsaigh scored a goal within thirty seconds. Diarmaid Byrnes responded with two points and Calvin Carroll nabbed a goal to put the ‘Well 1-3 to 1-1 ahead after just five minutes. The pace of scoring slowed dramatically over the next fifteen minutes. Na Piarsaigh struck four points, while Jordan Higgins and Aaron Gillane replied for Patrickswell. The scoreboard in the 20th minute read 1-5 apiece. The closing stages of the first half were cagey. Na Piarsaigh added three points, but Patrickswell stayed in contention with points from Cian Lynch and Aaron Gillane. The Light Blues led by 1-8 to 1-7 at the interval.

The second half began with Patrickswell reaching parity at 1-12 apiece by the 40th minute. Cian Fitzgerald, Thomas O’Brien, Aaron Gillane 0-2 and Diarmaid Byrnes were the scorers. Aaron Gillane smashed a stunning goal in the 45th minute, but Na Piarsaigh were unbowed and replied with a trio of consecutive points. There was great excitement for the last ten minutes, with a tied score of 2-12 to 1-15. The All-Ireland trio of Diarmaid Byrnes, Aaron Gillane and Cian Lynch gave Patrickswell a strong hand by the 58th minute. The Caherdavin men pushed hard, but their only score was a point. Patrickswell won this tense encounter by 2-15 to 1-16. Their next fixture is against Doon on Thursday August 10 at 7pm in Bruff. Tickets must be purchased in advance on

JUNIOR A HURLERS: The Junior A hurlers were defeated by an impressive Kilteely Dromkeen side in their Championship opener. With 15 minutes gone, our opponents were 1-4 to 0-2 ahead. Patrickswell edged back into the contest with five points from Eoin Harmon 0-2, Billy Earls and Peter Harty 0-2. Unfortunately a second Kilteely Dromkeen goal was very damaging. After 25 minutes, we trailed by 2-5 to 0-7. John Kirby claimed two points before the half-time whistle to make the score 2-6 to 0-9.

At the start of the second half, Patrickswell stayed in contention when David Woulfe, Peter Harty 0-2 and Josh Carey secured points for a 2-11 to 0-13 deficit. Kilteely Dromkeen’s salvo of four unanswered points put the game beyond Patrickswell’s reach at 2-15 to 0-13. Eoin Harmon’s point was met with a closing barrage of two goals and four points. The final result was 4-19 to 0-14. The boys have a chance of immediate recovery when they face Askeaton in Adare on Sunday August 13 at 1pm. Tickets must be purchased in advance on

CAMOGIE: Patrickswell beat neighbours Ballybrown by 7-10 to 0-6 in their second Junior Championship match.

FUNDRAISER: Patrickswell’s Senior hurlers, in association with Milford Care Centre, are currently selling chocolate bars with Golden Tickets inside for €5. Milford Care Centre will receive 50% of the proceeds. If you get a golden ticket, you are in for a prize. The top prize is €500 cash, with other prizes to be announced. Prize winners will be revealed in Punch’s Bar on August 12.

CLUB LOTTO: The Club Lotto draw on Monday July 31 was not won. The numbers drawn were 10, 15, 16 and 32. The bonus number was 12. The €100 Lucky Dip was won by Kay Allen and the €20 prizes were claimed by Mag Foley, Mike Toomey, Mike Foley, Mike Mann and Kate McCarthy. This week’s jackpot is €7,200.