Mon 29, May, 2023

INTER-COUNTY HURLERS: Congratulations to Limerick and Cian, Aaron & Diarmaid for reaching a Munster Championship final after an epic win over Cork.

SENIOR HURLERS: The Senior hurlers edged out neighbours Ballybrown in a hard fought City Senior League match. Patrick Kirby scored the opening point of the match, but Ballybrown went ahead with three consecutive points in ten minutes. By the 15th minute, the sides were level at 0-5 apiece (Patrick Kirby, John Kirby 0-2 and Jordan Higgins). Over the next ten minutes, Patrickswell crept ahead by 0-9 to 0-8 thanks to points from John Flynn, Calvin Carroll and Patrick Kirby 0-2. Just before half-time, Jordan Higgins struck the net and the ‘Well led by 1-9 to 0-9.

Patrickswell roared out of the traps at the beginning of the second half and notched four points from Patrick Kirby 0-2, Jack Kelleher and Evan Fitzgerald. We were 1-13 to 0-9 ahead and playing well. Ballybrown were resolute and replied with a goal and two points to slash the deficit to 1-13 to 1-11 with fifteen minutes to play. Patrick Kirby’s brace and Nigel Foley put the ‘Well 1-16 to 1-12 ahead with ten minutes left. There was a scoring flurry, but Ballybrown remained 1-18 to 1-15 behind with five minutes to go. Our neighbours then experienced a purple patch and equalised by the 60th minute. The game was in the balance, but Patrick Kirby held his nerve to claim two injury time frees. Patrickswell triumphed by 1-20 to 1-18.

JUNIOR A HURLERS: The Junior As recorded a comprehensive victory over Doon in the City East Intermediate League. The game began with Doon in charge and the East Men led by 0-5 to 0-2 after 15 minutes. The game turned when Patrickswell produced 1-8 in a rapid ten minute spell. Kieran Long’s goal was followed by points from David Woulfe, Thomas Nolan 0-2, Cian Fitzgerald, Cian Enright, Peter Harty, Eoin Harmon and Kieran Long. There was sufficient time for another Kieran Long goal as Patrickswell reached the interval ten points ahead at 2-11 to 0-7.

In the opening stages of the second half, Patrickswell went fifteen points clear at 3-15 to 0-9. Some substitutions freshened up the team and Patrickswell accrued five consecutive points in seven minutes from Cian Enright 0-3 and Shane Hannon 0-2. Doon were now adrift by twenty points at 3-20 to 0-9, but they scored a few consolation points. The final result was 3-23 to 0-13.

CLUB LOTTO: The Club Lotto draw on Monday May 22 was not won. The numbers drawn were 3, 5, 6 and 14. The bonus number was 28. The €100 Lucky Dip was won by Elaine Cusack and the €20 prizes were claimed by Sam Milburn, Annette Harmon, Noreen Coughlan, Sean Foley and Pat Purcell. This week’s jackpot is €5,200.